Denise Anderson, Superintendent

The Board of Trustees of Bovina ISD met in regular session April 11, 2016 in the administration building of Bovina Schools at 500 Halsell Street in Bovina, Texas. The meeting was called to order at 5:48p.m. by President Larry Mitchell. Mitchell gave the invocation.

Members present: Antillon, Brozek, Carson, Leuea, Mitchell, and Steelman

Members tardy: none Members absent: none

Staff present: Anderson, Arias, Barnes, Guevara, Sealey, and Watson

Visitors present: Laura Hill, Scott Hill, Lory Saenz, Olga Pinela, Norma Flores, Veronica Quintana, Mickie Loera, Debbie Medrano, Sandra Perez, Veronica De La Torre, Elizabeth De La Torre, Isiah De La Torre, and Gabriel Medrano.

Regular Session 5:48 p.m.

The Board opened in Open Forum with Veronica Quintana signing up to speak to the board about the quality of education her daughter is receiving.

- A. Report from Principals, Program Director, and Athletic Director
 - Student Recognition No action taken
 - Good news-Campus Level No action taken
 - Campus/Athletic Activities No action taken
 - Special Programs or Activities No action taken
 - Introduce Employee of the Month Scott Hill
- B. Mitchell made the motion to approve the monthly Financials, Reports and Board Minutes as presented. Carson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Leuea, Mitchell, Steelman, and Carson voting for and none opposed.
- C. Carson made the motion to approve the Instructional Materials Allotment and TEKS Certification for 2016-2017as presented. Leuea seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Leuea, Mitchell, Steelman, and Carson voting for and none opposed.
- D. Leuea made the motion to approve one Headstart and one PreKindergarten program for 2016-2017. Brozek seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Carson, Leuea, Mitchell, and Steelman voting for and none opposed.
- E. Mitchell made the motion to allow the superintendent to attend the County Commissioner's Meeting to request disbursement of Bovina ISD's share of the Permanent School Fund to help with the cost of the gymnasium project. Brozek seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Carson, Leuea, Mitchell and Steelman voting for and none opposed.
- F. Leuea made the motion to approve the bid with The Boys Painting and Construction for remodeling of school housing. Brozek seconded the motion. The motion passed with Brozek, Leuea, and Mitchell voting for and Carson and Steelman opposed, and Antillon abstained.
- G. Steelman made the motion to amend the 2015-2016 budget as presented. Carson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Leuea, Carson, Mitchell, and Steelman voting for and none opposed.
- H. Steelman made the motion to accept the superintendent's recommendation to accept the resignation of Joseph Jaraczewski, MS Social Studies teacher. Antillon seconded the motion.

The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Carson, Leuea, Mitchell, and Steelman voting for and none opposed.

Motion #2: Mitchell made the motion to accept the superintendent's recommendation to extend a probationary teacher contract to Shana Fleming (2^{nd} grade) for the 2016-2017 school year. Antillon seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Carson, Leuea, Mitchell, and Steelman voting for and none opposed.

Motion #3: Leuea made the motion to accept the superintendent's recommendation to reassign Kathryn McMillian from 4^{th} grade teacher to Middle School Reading for the 2016-2017 school year. Brozek seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Carson, Leuea, Mitchell, and Steelman voting for and none opposed.

Motion #4: Mitchell made the motion to accept the superintendent's recommendation to extend Term Contracts to Sarah Stevens, Stephanie Cox, Tina Sides, Delayne Duffy, Lupe Vidaurri, Kelly Tipton, Courtney Potter, JoAnn Luscombe, Veronica Quintana, Tanya Bechtold, Carol Esquibel, Jennifer Marez, Whtiney Hennig, Mary Ella Caviness, Jill Ramirez, Christi Brown, Adan Carrasco, Rachel Avalos, Richard Chitwood, Laura Hill, Scott Hill, Caroline Kron, Randy Ragland, Josephine Madrid, Connie Cox, Rebecca Moore and Michelle Durham for the 2016-2017 school year. Leuea seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Carson, Leuea, Mitchell, and Steelman voting for and none opposed.

Motion #5: Carson made the motion to accept the superintendent's recommendation to extend the probationary contracts to Evelyn Munoz, Emilee Tipton, Dorian Vela, and Kathryn McMillian for the 2016-2017 school year. Antillon seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Carson, Leuea, Mitchell, and Steelman voting for and none opposed.

Motion #6: Leuea made the motion to accept the superintendent's recommendation to extend dual assignment term contracts to Jason Anaya, Ben Rainey, Dan Castillo, John Hodges, Eric Montemayor, Jay Thackston, and Jonathan Lambright for the 2016-2017 school year. Antillon seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Carson, Leuea, Mitchell, and Steelman voting for and none opposed.

Motion #7: Antillon made the motion to accept the superintendent's recommendation to extend the dual assignments probationary contracts to Elias Carrillo, and Stephen Seymore for the 2016-2017 school year if they obtain their certification through SBEC by May 13, 2016. Mitchell seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Carson, Leuea, Mitchell, and Steelman voting for and none opposed.

- I. Report from Superintendent
 - Good News- District Level
 - Projects (Gym, 313 Agreement)
 - Enrollment Projections/Staffing Update
 - Permanent School Fund Update
 - Board Meeting Calendar
 - Calendar Updates (Snow day April 22)
 - Continuing education opportunities for Board members (Spring workshop @ WTAMU, May 18)
 - Set date for next regular Board meeting May 9, 2016.
- J. Mitchell made the motion to adjourn at 7:48 pm. Carson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Antillon, Brozek, Carson, Leuea, Mitchell and Steelman voting for and none opposed.

President		
Secretary		